Award UPSC PRELIMS 2023 – The Core IAS


Consider the following pairs with regard to sports awards:

  1. Major Dhyan Chand:            For the most

               Khel Ratna Award    spectacular and

                                                outstanding per- formance by a sportsperson over

                                                period of last four years

  1. Arjuna Award           :           For the lifetime  achievement by a   sportsperson
  2. Dronacharya Award:            To honour eminent   coaches who have successfully trained     sportspersons

                                                or teams

  1. Rashtriya Khel:         To recognize the

               Protsahan Puraskar   contribution made

                                                by sportspersons even after


        How many of the above pairs are correctly matched?

        (a)   Only one

        (b)   Only two

        (c)   Only three

        (d)   All four


  • The Khel Ratna is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performances by a sportsperson over a period of the previous four years.
  • Arjuna Awards, instituted in 1961, are given to players who have exhibited good performance consistently for the previous four years at the International level and have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline. The Awardees are given a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress and a cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakh.
  • Dronacharya Awards, instituted in 1985, are given to honour eminent Coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in International competitions. Dronachaya Awards are given in two categories (i) Regular Category (ii) Lifetime Category. The Awardees are given a statuette of Guru Dronacharya, a certificate, ceremonial dress and a cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakh.
  • With a view to recognizing the contribution made to sports development by entities other than sportspersons and coaches, Government has instituted a new award entitle Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar from the year 2009, which has four categories (i) Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent (ii) Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility (iii) Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures (iv) Sports for Development. The awards consist of a certificate and a trophy in each of above four categories. There is no cash award.
  • Dhyanchand Awards Dhyanchand Awards for Life Time Achievements in Sports and Games, Instituted in 2002, are given to honour those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career. The awardees are given a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress and a cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakh